Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Leader of Congress in Lok Sabha Mallikarjuna Kharge, who are members of the three-member panel, will also attend it. The transparency watchdog has gone headless, for the second time since the BJP Government came into power in 2014, after Vijai Sharma completed his tenure on December 1, after attaining 65 years of age. Sharma was appointed on June 9, this year.

The CIC was without its chief for nearly 10 months after the completion of the tenure of the then Chief Information Commissioner Rajiv Mathur in August 2014. A total of 33,619 complaints and appeals are pending in the Commission , as per official data. The CIC comprises of one chief and ten Information Commissioners.

At present, there are seven Information Commissioners Basant Seth, Yashovardhan Azad, Sharat Sabharwal, Manjula Prasher, M A Khan Yusufi, Madabhushanam Sridhar Acharyulu and Sudhir Bhargava in the Commission. As per convention, the senior most Information
Commissioner is chosen as chief. Presently, Seth is the senior-most Information Commissioner.

The Committee may also discuss on the names of three new Information Commissioners . Another meeting of the selection committee may take place soon in case the panel could not decide on their names, the sources said.


Latest News from India News Desk