Arriving in New Delhi on Wednesday morning after attending the memorial service for Nelson Mandela, he began the day by inaugurating a Recreation Club Guest House and Kaveri Residential Complex as part of redevelopment scheme within the Presidential Estate.
Later, the President received Ansari, the Prime Minister, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar and Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde who presented bouquets and wished him on the occasion.
Mukherjee met general public for 30 minutes on Wednesday to receive their wishes. The celebrations were low key in view of the five day mourning being observed as a mark of respect to the late anti-apartheid icon.
Earlier after taking off from Johannesburg, the President cut the cake on board the special Air India aircraft in the presence of UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj, MPs Sitaram Yechurry and Satish Mishra. The leaders greeted him on the occasion.

Modi greets President Mukherjee on his 78th birthday

Meanwhile, BJP’s prime ministerial candidate and Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday greeted President Pranab Mukherjee on his 78th birthday.

“Warm birthday wishes to the Honourable President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee. I pray for his good health & long life,” Modi tweeted.

Meanwhile, Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj, who returned to New Delhi on Wednesday after attending a memorial service for former South African president Nelson Mandela, said the President’s birthday was celebrated in the aircraft.

“11th December: We celebrated Rashtrapatiji's birthday in the aircraft,” she said in a Twitter post.

Swaraj was a part of the Indian delegation that accompanied Mukherjee to South Africa.

Mukherjee assumed office as the 13th President of India on July 25, 2012, crowning a political career of over five decades of exemplary service to the nation in Government as well as Parliament.

Mukherjee is a man of unparalleled experience in governance with the rare distinction of having served at different times as Foreign, Defence, Commerce and Finance Minister. He was elected to the Upper House of the Parliament (Rajya Sabha) five times from 1969 and twice to the Lower House of the Parliament (Lok Sabha) from 2004. He was a member of the Congress Working Committee, the highest policy making body of the Party for a period of 23 years.


Latest News from India News Desk