The general elections have often spring surprises with many big wig leaders cutting across party line losing to their lesser known rivals.

It is not the Congress party only whose top leaders are losing in the general elections, several other big wigs from the BJP and regional parties are also trailing or have lost as per election results on Friday.

Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) supremo and the Civil Aviation Minister Ajit Singh has been stunned by former Mumbai Police Commissioner and BJP candidate Satyapal Singh from his traditional Baghpat seat.

Other important UPA leaders who are trailing so far are - Union Home Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde to BJP’s Sharad Bansode in Solapur,   Milind Deora to Shiv Sena`s Arvind Sawant in South Mumbai constituency, NCPs Praful Patel against BJP’s Nana Patole in Bhandara – Gondiya seat, NCP leader Chaghan Bhujbal from Nashik against Shiv Sena’s Tukaram Godse, former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister and National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah against People Democratic Party’s rival Tariq Hamid Karra  and Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar against BJP’s Chhedi Paswan from Sasaram seat.

Meanwhile, Congress candidate from the Ghaziabad constituency Raj Babbar has been defeated by BJP’s General VK Singh.
Congress leader Shashi Tharoor is struggling against BJP veteran O Rajagopal from Thiruvananthapuram seat. He was trailing earlier but as per latest reports, he has established a slender lead over his rival.

Congress leaders Pawan Bansal (Chandigarh) and Ambika Soni (Anandpur Sahib) have also lost from their respective seats as per reports.
However, the biggest shock for the Congress party came with a crushing defeat for one of party’s senior most leaders Kapil Sabil at the hands of BJP’s Delhi chief Harshvardhan.

The important BJP leaders who are trailing in the general elections are – Arun Jaitley against former Punjab chief minister Amarinder Singh from Amritsar seat, Shahnawaz Hussain against RJD's Shailesh Kumar and BJP Orissa Chief Kanka Vardhan Singhdeo in Patanagarh Assembly seat.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) convener Arvind Kejriwal has lost to BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi from the Varanasi seat. He came a distant second with Congress’ Ajay Rai coming third.

AAP leader Kumar Vishwas is also trailing against Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi from the Amethi constituency.

Rashtriya Janata Dal leader and former Bihar chief minister Rabri Devi is trailing against top BJP leader Rajiv Pratap Singh Rudy from the Saran constituency.


Latest News from India News Desk