Thiruvananthapuram/Chennai: Curtains came down on electioneering for the single-phase assembly polls in three states in Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry on April 13. The end of poll campaigning in Kerala was marred by sporadic violence on Monday that left a minister injured.

A group of UDF workers attempted to block the vehicle of Ports Minister and LDF candidate V Surendran Pillai when he was canvassing in the dying moments of the campaign in Poothura area in Thiruvananthapuram, police said.

Belonging to Kerala Congress (Thomas) faction, Pillai was hurt on his forehead after being hit by a stone.

Minor clashes were also reported from places like Perithalmanna, Kayamkulam, Karunagapply and Kaipamangalam.

Police said the campaigning was by and large peaceful and there had been no major violence as the overall situation was normal throughout the state.

The rival fronts are locked in a fierce combat in most of the constituencies making it a close contest in the state which had alternately voted for the LDF and UDF every five years and where even a small swing could be decisive.

A total of 971 candidates are in the fray for the assembly polls, a majority of them independents. The state has a total electorate of 2.31 crore.

In Tamil Nadu, the fate of 2,773 candidates, including DMK leader and Chief Minister M Karunanidhi (Tiruvarur), his arch rival and AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa (Srirangam), Karunanidhi's son and Deputy Chief Minister M K Stalin (Kolathur) and DMDK founder Vijayakanth (Rishivandyam) will be decided on Wednesday.

The fortnight-long electioneering saw a no-holds- barred campaign veering around personal attacks between bitter rivals ruling DMK and AIADMK.

Karunanidhi harped on the theme of development and berated the EC repeatedly for its actions, accusing it of creating an 'emergency like situation'. On the other hand, Jayalalithaa asked voters to rid the state of 'family rule' of the DMK patriarch and targeted Karunanidhi over "rampant corruption" and "collapse" of law and order.

In the Union Territory of Puducherry, over 8.10 lakh voters are expected to exercise their franchise to elect 30 members to the territorial assembly.

Congress has fielded its candidates in 17 segments while main ally DMK is seeking election from 10. PMK is contesting two while Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi one.

On the rival side, former Chief Minister N Rangasamy- led All India NR Congress is contesting 17 seats while AIADMK 10. CPI, CPM and DMDK have fielded candidates in a seat each.

The main contestants are Assembly Speaker R Radakrishnan, Chief Minister V Vaithilingam and all his five ministerial colleagues, Puducherry unit's DMK convener and former chief minister R V Janakiraman, and Rangasamy, who is chief ministerial candidate of the rival front.