Jamshedpur, (Agencies): Elections for the Kharswan Assembly by poll from where Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda is contesting to enter the state assembly began on Thursday
amidst tight security arrangements.

Apart from the district police force, 600 personnel of central para-military forces have been deputed to maintain law and order during the polling.
 Munda had represented the seat thrice in a row since 1995 till he resigned after he was elected to Lok Sabha from Jamshedpur parliamentary seat in the last general election.
He is locked in a straight contest with Babulal Marandi-led Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) (JVM) candidate, Dasrath Gagrai, a consensus candidate of opposition parties including Congress and National Jharkhandi Alliance.
Besides, Bahadur Oraon of CPI (ML) and four independent candidates were also left in the fray.
Kharswan by-poll was necessitated after sitting BJP MLA Mangal Singh Soy resigned two months ago to pave way for Munda to enter the House.