Imphal: Manipur will on Saturday go to polls for 60-member assembly. Most of the polling personnel have left for their respective polling stations in interior hill districts of Senapati, Ukhrul, Tamenglong, Chandel and Churachandpur, election officials said.

Polling personnel for valley districts of Imphal East, Imphal West, Bishnupur and Thoubal are also on the way to their destinations.

Altogether 12,967 polling personnel will man 2,357 polling stations for the one-day election, they said, adding that central para-military forces will be deployed at the polling stations where polling would begin at 7 AM and end at 4 PM on January 28.

Altogether 17,40,576 voters, including 8,82,236 women will exercise their franchise to elect representatives from 60 Assembly constituencies enlisting 279 candidates.

Both Congress and Trinamool Congress are fighting the election without any alliance with other parties with 60 and 48 candidates respectively.

Other parties which fielded their candidates are Manipur State Congress Party (31), CPI (24), NCP (22), BJP (19), Manipur People's Party (14) and National People's Party (12) in alliance with other political parties.

Prominent candidates are Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh (Congress - Thoubal), former Chief Minister and state NCP chief Radhabinod Koijam (Thangmeiband), Assembly Speaker and Congress nominee, Hemochandra Singh (Shingjamei), former Deputy Chief Minister and Manipur People's Party nominee L Chandramani Singh (Patsoi) and MPP chief and former minister Nimaichand Luwang.

JPN/ Agencies