Nagpur: Australian captain Ricky Ponting on Thursday maintained that he did not smash the television set in the dressing room and it was just an ‘accident’.

Reprimanded by the ICC for breach of code of conduct, Ponting had accepted the Level 1 charge and the proposed sanction from Match Referee Roshan Mahanama. But he insisted that he did not hit the TV set intentionally.

"I don't know where the stories have come from. I accept what ICC has come up with so far about reprimand. I just wanted to clarify that television set was not hit by me with my cricket bat,” clarified Ponting.

"It was my cricket box that hit my cricket kit and caused small damage to the television set. I reported the matter straightaway to the team manager. They replaced the TV set immediately," Ponting told the media persons at Jamtha on Thursday.

However, the skipper did admit that although it was an "accident", it shouldn't have happened in the first place.     

"Dressing room is a sacred place and there is always a line which one shouldn't cross. It was accidental and no malice was involved," he said.

(Agencies)