New Delhi: Talented forward Poonam Rani was on Wednesday named as skipper of the Indian team for the four-nation under-21 hockey tournament, starting here from November 8.

The Junior Women Lal Bahadur Shastri tournament will have Australia, Germany and New Zealand as other teams.

The event will be played at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in a round robin format.

The two-day selection trial for the Indian team concluded at SAI Centre, Bhopal on Wednesday.

Indian team will have two goalkeepers, four defenders, five mid-fielders and seven forwards.

Lt. Col. B K  Subramani will be chief coach of the side. Indian will open its campaign on November 8 against New Zealand.


Goalkeepers: Sukhmani Virk, Bigan Soy.

Defenders: Deep Grace Ekka, Jaspreet Kaur, Apoorva Vishwakarma and Sandeep Kaur.

Midfielders: Niki Pradhan, Namita Toppo, Monika Malik, Balvinder Kaur Mehra and Anju Dhiman.

Forwards: Navjot Kaur, Neha Goyal, Anupa Barla Lilima Minz, Poonam Rani (C), Navneet Kaur and Anima Minz.