Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu took the oath first as member of the Legislative Assembly followed by his Cabinet colleagues.
Pro-tem Speaker Pativada Narayanaswamy Naidu administered the oath to newly-elected legislators.
Earlier, Narayanaswamy was sworn-in by Governor E S L Narasimhan as Pro-tem Speaker.
The Governor will address the joint sitting of the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly.     

On Thursday, 173 MLAs are expected to take oath in the House. The House will elect the Speaker and Deputy Speaker on Friday.

There are two vacancies in the 175-member assembly due to death of Prabhakar Rao (after the election) and Bhuma Sobha Nagi Reddy (days before the election).

The House will take up debate on motion of thanks to the Governor's address on June 23 and 24.

Though the election results were declared on May 16, the assembly session could not be convened because the state bifurcation process was underway which formally completed on June 2.

The new government in Andhra Pradesh assumed office on June 8.

The state Cabinet met on June 12 and decided to conduct the first session of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly from June 19.


Latest News from State News Desk