Prakash came fourth in heat number 2 but finished at the 20th spot overall in a field of 28 swimmers at the Tollcross International centre.

Australia's David McKeon clocked an impressive 3:45.23 in his heat to emerge on top, while compatriots Mack Horton (3:47.33) and Jordan Harrison (3:47.75) also made it to the final.

For the hosts, S Milne (3.46.88), D Wallace (3.46.96) and R Renwick (3.47.19) qualified for the final.

In men's 100m freestyle S9, Indian Para swimmer Prasanta Karmakar, who had won a bronze medal at the 2010 Commonwealth Games, clocked 1.04.86 to qualify for the final after finishing fourth in heat.

Latest News from Sports News Desk