New Delhi: Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal on Thursday won by 8,532 votes from Hamirpur seat. Soon after the victory, Dhumal said, "We did our best, and let us see who will form the government."

The Congress forged ahead of the ruling BJP in Himachal as officials counted tens of thousands of votes polled in last month's state election.

BJP candidates seemed to be on the winning track in 23 constituencies compared to 37 of the Congress.

Meanwhile, Congress veteran and former Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh was confident his party would oust the BJP. "We are very confident of forming a government," he said.


Latest News from India News Desk