New Delhi: President Pranab Mukherjee on Thursday accepted the resignation of five Ministers belonging to DMK, which withdrew support to the UPA government over Sri Lankan Tamil issue.

READ MORE: DMK's big blow: 5 ministers quit UPA Cabinet

"The President of India, as advised by the Prime Minister, has accepted the resignation of the Union Council of Ministers with immediate effect," a Rashtrapati Bhavan release said naming the DMK representatives.

MK Alagiri, Minister of Chemicals and Fertilisers, SS Palanimanickam, Minister of State for Finance, S Gandhiselvan, Minister of State for Health and Family Welfare, S Jagathrakshakan, Minister of State for Commerce and Industry and D Nepoleon, Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment, had submitted their resignations to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Wednesday.

Srikant Jena shall be given Independent Charge of the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilisers as Minister of State, in addition to Independent Charge of the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation as Minister of State, the release said.


Latest News from India News Desk