New Delhi: President Pranab Mukherjee has accepted the resignation of the six Trinamool Congress ministers on the advice of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, official sources said on Saturday.

The six were railways minister Mukul Roy, and ministers of state Sudip Bandyopadhyay (health and family welfare) Saugata Roy (urban development), Choudhary Mohan Jatua (information and broadcasting), Sultan Ahmed (tourism) and Sisir Adhikari (rural development).

The ministers had submitted their resignations to the Prime Minister on Friday on the directive of party supremo and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, who withdrew support to the ruling United Progressive Alliance on the issue of economic reforms.


Latest News from India News Desk