New Delhi: A 12-member Coordination Committee has been constituted by Congress to finalise the campaign programme and strategy of UPA's Presidential candidate Pranab Mukherjee, who will file his nomination on June 28. The Committee will meet tomorrow and is expected to finetune the campaign of Mukherjee, who will also step down as Finance Minister on the same day.

Besides Mukherjee, the Committee has senior ministers and party leaders as its members.

The ministerial members are A K Antony, P Chidambaram, Ambika Soni, Rajiv Shukla, Pawan Kumar Bansal and P S Ghatowar.

The other members are Ahmed Patel, Political Secretary to Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Janardan Dwivedi, Oscar Fernandes, Girija Vyas and P J Kurien.

Mukherjee will file his papers for the July 19 Presidential poll on June 28, AICC General Secretary Janardan Dwivedi told reporters today after the CWC meeting which bid a fond farewell to the Congress stalwart. June 30 is the last day for filing of nominations.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Congress President Sonia Gandhi will be among top UPA leaders who will propose Mukherjee's name when he files his papers.

He is expected to launch his campaign from Chennai on June 30 and then visit Hyderabad and Bangalore the next day.


Latest news from India News Desk