New Delhi: Four persons have filed their nomination papers for the July 19 Presidential elections, with poll authorities rejecting the candidature of one of them, officials said on Monday.

"We have received nomination papers from four persons, one of the applications has been rejected as it did not fulfill the criteria," V K Agnihotri, Returning Officer for the Presidential Elections told reporters here.

Anand Singh Kushwaha from Gwalior, Om Prakash Agarwal from Delhi, Narendra Nath Dubay 'Adig' from Varanasi and M Iliyas from Dharampuri in Tamil Nadu filed their nominations since the notification for the election was issued on Saturday.

While Kushwaha and Agarwal filed their papers on Saturday, Dubay and Iliyas submitted their application on Monday.

"The application of M Iliyas has been rejected as it did not have a certified copy of the electoral roll showing the applicant's name," Agnihotri said.

A candidate has to attach a certified copy of his entry in the electoral roll for the Parliamentary constituency in which he is registered as a voter.

Besides, the candidate has to deposit Rs 15,000 in cash with returning officer or in the Reserve Bank of India or Government Treasury and attach a receipt with his application.

A nomination paper should contain signatures of at least 50 proposers and 50 seconders.


Latest news from India News Desk