However, the Central rule will continue in the residual Andhra Pradesh till Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief N Chandrababu Naidu takes charge as chief minister a week later.

Union Home Ministry on Monday morning issued a notification revoking President's rule in Telangana to facilitate Rao in taking charge as the first Chief Minister of the country's 29th state.

The notification said that President's rule will continue in residuary Andhra Pradesh till June 8, the day Naidu will be sworn in as the Chief Minister of ‘divided’ Andhra Pradesh.

Rao's party TRS won 63 of the 119 Assembly seats in Telangana whereas Nadu's TDP along with ally BJP, bagged 106 of the 175 Assembly seats in neighbouring state.

President's rule was imposed in Andhra Pradesh on March 1 after N Kiran Kumar Reddy resigned as Chief Minister following Parliament's nod for bifurcation of the state.


Latest News from India News Desk