The contenders for the seat are Sureshbhai Patel, Narendra Rawat, Rajeshriben Desai and Vinubhai Jivabhai Patel.

Suresh Patel is the former president of the city unit of Vadodara Congress and a builder by profession. Vinubhai Patel is the president of Vadodara district Congress and former chairman of the executive committee of Vadodara district panchayat.
Party sources claimed that Suresh Patel is having a strong support of builders' lobby.  Rawat, an engineer by profession, is the president of Vadodara city Congress. Desai is an active party worker. Except Vinubhai Patel, none of the three contenders have contested any election either at local, state or national level.

Saturday is the last day for Congress workers to register for the ‘primaries’. The voting will take place on March 13. The selected candidates will contest on Congress ticket from Vadodara constituency in the Lok Sabha elections after the party high command gives its final approval.
"Our primary candidate for the Lok Sabha seat will be selected by 664 Congress workers and leaders of Vadodara city and district, who have already registered with us as voters," said Rawat.

In Gujarat, Vadodara and Bhavnagar are two of the 15 seats shortlisted by Congress where system of selecting probable candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha elections through internal voting, called as primaries, has been introduced by the party.
Vadodara Lok Sabha seat has been held by BJP's Balkrishna Shukla since 2009. Prior to him, the seat was held by Jayaben Thakkar of BJP for three consecutive terms.


Latest News from State News Desk