Shops, business establishments and educational institutions remained closed while buses were off the roads in all major towns of Seemandhra, as the two regions are called.

Demanding the Centre to reverse its decision and keep the state united, hundreds of protestors took to the streets. They burnt effigies of Congress leaders and demanded mass resignations of all elected representatives irrespective of their party affiliations to mount pressure on United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government at the Centre. Raising slogans of 'Jai Samaikya Andhra', the protestors including students, political activists, employees, teachers and lawyers took out rallies.

Buses of Andhra Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation (APSRTC) remained confined to depots in Kadapa, Anantapur, Chittoor and Kurnool districts of Rayalaseema and several parts of coastal Andhra.

Protests continued in Anantapur, Kadapa, Kurnool, Tirupati, Chittoor, Nellore, Vijayawada, Guntur, Eluru, Kakinada, Rajahmundry, Visakhapatnam, Vijaynagaram and other towns. In Vijayawada, employees of Vijayawada Thermal Power Station (VTPS) also joined the protest. Their leaders have warned that if the political leaders failed to quit their posts, they would go on strike. The plant meets 40 percent of the state's electricity requirement.

Samaikya Andhra Joint Action Committee (JAC) has called for the shutdown and protests across Seemandhra. JAC leaders said that there would be no compromise on united Andhra."We are protesting for the safety and the interests of 90 lakh people who live in Hyderabad and other parts of Telangana," said a JAC leader.


Latest News from State News Desk