Hyderabad: Sahara Pune Warriors registered a convincing victory by 6 wickets against Deccan Chargers. In the 19th over of the innings, CJ Ferguson scored the winning runs.

The three quick dismissals of Manish Pandey, Robin Uthappa and skipper Yuvraj Singh gave an outside chance of victory to Deccan Chargers.

Read More: A Royal return of Bengal tiger


However former Indian skipper, Sourav Ganguly played an important unbeaten innings of 32 runs to ensure the victory from his team. His innings included three boundaries and a massive six.

In a short span of few balls, Uthappa and Yuvraj were dismissed after scoring 1 and 2 runs respectively. Earlier, Ryder came up with a good knock of 35 runs which five hits to the fence and two huge sixes. Ganguly and Ferguson who scored an unbeaten 14 runs guided the team to victory.

For Deccan Chargers, Daniel Christian picked up two wickets, and Ojha and Mishra took one wicket each.

A short pitched ball by DT Christian got rid off Robin Uthappa in the 13th over. Uthappa could manage to score only one run before being dismissed

Amit Mishra dismissed Manish Pandey before the opening batsman could complete his half-century. In the 12th over of the innings, Mishra trapped Pandey leg before on a personal score of 49 runs. After 12 overs, Pune Warrior score is 93 runs for the loss of two wickets.

The crowd at Hyderabad stadium rose to their feet to watch old warhorse Sourav Ganguly made his way to the pitch. The first run scored by Ganguly was cheered by spectators and Pune Warriors team members.

After scoring a quick-fire 35 off 20 balls, Ryder was bowled by Pragyan Ojha. The first wicket of Pune Warriors fell on the score of 55 runs.

Pune Warriors openers Jesse Ryder and Manish Pandey have guided their team to a commanding position. After five overs, the opening pair remains unbeaten as the team score reaches 43 runs.

Failing to capitalise on the steady start provided by Dhawan and Teja, Deccan Charges were restricted to 136 for eight wickets by the bowling attack of Pune Warriors.

An inspired spell by medium pacer Mitchell Marsh gave a tough time to the DC batsmen. In his spell, Marsh took four wickets by conceding only 25 runs. Teja, Duminy, Sohal and Amit Mishra were the four important wickets taken by Marsh.

He got a good support from Yuvraj Singh who dismissed two batsmen by spending only 17 runs in his full quota of bowling spell. Continuing with his good performance in IPL, spinner Rahul Sharma took the prized wicket of DC captain Kumar Sangakkara.

Sunny Sohal and Amit Mishra were dismissed on successive balls by Mitchell Marsh. The medium pacer made a double blow in two balls to restrict DC to 125 runs for seven wickets in 19 overs

Duminy fails to revive DC, as he was dismissed by Marsh after scoring 30 runs.

Yuvraj Singh took his second wicket by dismissing DT Christian for a paltry 10 runs off 11 balls

Deccan Chargers skipper Kumar Sangakkara was trapped lbw by spinner Rahul Sharma after he scored 12 runs off 13 balls

Deccan chargers lost both its openers as Ravi Teja departed soon after Dhawan. Pacer Mitchell Marsh dismissed Teja at 30.The team score after 9 overs was 66 with the loss of two wickets

After a steady start of DC, Yuvraj Singh made the first breakthrough by scapling Shikhar Dhawan. The DC opening batsman was caught by Jesse Ryder off the bowling of Yuvraj. Before being dismissed Dhawan scored 24 runs off 17 balls

Deccan Chargers are playing well with maintaining the stability at pitch. Kumar Sangakkara-led Deccan Chargers won the toss and elected to bat first against Yuvraj Singh-led Pune Warriors in Indian Premier League match at Hyderabad.

Both the teams will be playing for their pride as they are languishing at the bottom of the table.

Sourav Ganguly finally makes his much-anticipated return in this edition, for the Warriors, while Pragyan Ojha is in for Ishan Malhotra in the Deccan squad.


DECCAN CHARGERS: S Dhawan, S Sohal, B Chipli, KC Sangakkara*†, JP Duminy, DT Christian, DB Ravi Teja, PP Ojha,
A Mishra, DW Steyn, I Sharma

SAHARA PUNE WARRIORS: MK Pandey, SC Ganguly, JD Ryder, RV Uthappa†, Yuvraj Singh*, CJ Ferguson, MR Marsh, WD Parnell, SB
Wagh, R Sharma, B Kumar.