Jalandhar (Central)
Total voters: 1, 41,433
Female voters: 67701
Male voters: 73732

The Congress and the BJP are traditional rivals on Jalandhar (central) seat. But changed political equations this time are likely to present unprecedented results.  Delimitation exercise has added over 40, 000 new electorates to this constituency. There is a direct contest between BJP candidate Manoranjan Kalia and Rajendra Beri of Congress. Kalia, the sitting MLA, is promising the people to develop the area as a model city. Construction of railway over bridge and flyover during his tenure are other achievements which Kaliya recounts during campaigns to woo the voters.

However, the dispute between former Congress MLA Rajkumar Gupta and party candidate Rajendra Beri over ticket distribution for Jalandhar (central) seat has not yet pacified, but Beri is still hopeful of getting Gupta’s support to win the seat.

Kalia happens to be one of the most influential leaders of the SAD-BJP combine in Punjab but he had to resign from the Council of Ministers amid the charges against him.
In 1992, Kaliya lost the seat to Jai Kishan Saini of the Congress. But in 1997 elections, he clinched victory on this seat.

Again in 2002, Kalia lost the seat to Rajkumar Gupta, though by a very thin margin. In 2007 elections, Kaliya once again marked victory by defeating the Congress candidate Tejinder Singh Bittoo. However, during this time period from 1992 to 2007 the voter base of Kaliya has swelled significantly.

Kalia had polled 4,367 votes in 1992, 43,091 in 1997, 22,355 in 2002 and 47,221 votes in 2007 assembly elections.

Rajendra Beri and Manoranjan Kaliya are taking each-other head on for the second time. In 1992, the contested against each other in Municipal corporation election and Kaliya had emerged victorious. This year it will be interesting to see as to who emerges as winner.