Punjab Chief Minister Prakash Singh Badal and Agriculture Minister Tota Singh were present to receive the award from Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
Odisha and Meghalaya were given the award in food grain category second (annual production from 1 to 10 MT) and third category (annual production under 1 MT annually), respectively.
In cropwise five category, the PM gave the Krishi Karman Award 2013-14 to Chhattisgarh (Rice), Madhya Pradesh (Wheat), Assam and Tamil Nadu (both in Pulses), West Bengal (Coarse Cereals), Gujarat (Oil Seeds).
Commendation awards were given to Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Maharashtra, Jharkhand and Karnataka.               

Besides, progressive farmers were also felicitated in the function which was for the first time was held outside the national capital.
"The government of India had the habit of giving these awards in Vigyan Bhawan in Delhi but we are changing this habit. This is why I have come here to distribute these awards and to nationally launch the soil heath card scheme," Prime Minister Modi said.

Latest News from States News Desk