Chandigarh: The Punjab Government on Wednesday dissolved 28 improvement trusts and appointed civil service officials in place of the chairpersons, who were political appointees of the SAD-BJP government in its previous tenure.

It is a routine procedure, officials said. Deputy Commissioners have been deputed as administrator at the districts headquarters, while SDMs were given the charge of dissolved improvement trust at the sub divisional level, they said.

The dissolved improvement trust included Amritsar, Jalandhar, Ludhiana, Sangrur, Bathinda, Patiala, Phagwara, Fardikot, Pathankot, Kapurthala and Tarn Taran.


Latest News from Punjab News Desk