Jalandhar: Taking no chances in advance of the Assembly polls in Punjab where the Congress is looking to make the ruling saffron party the victim of anti-incumbency, the Bharatiya Janata Party has decided to ensure the victory of party candidates on the plank of development, corruption and blackmoney.

It is worth mentioning that SAD-BJP alliance has been running the Punjab government since 2007. The SAD has allotted only 23 seats out of the total 117 Assembly seats in the state to the BJP.

All the 23 seats have been divided into five sectors where state and district level office bearers and party workers have been deployed to help the candidates reap maximum support. The saffron party strategists have set up a war room in Jalandhar to monitor the election campaign in the entire state.

Former Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister and state party in-charge Shanta Kumar and former minister Balramji Das Tandon will visit all the 23 Assembly segments from 9 to 19 January, while BJP’s national leaders are likely to campaign in favour of their party candidates from 20 to 27 January.

The star campaigners, including party president Nitin Gadkari, Gurajat CM Narendra Modi and Bihar CM Nitish Kumar, will campaign in favour of party candidates.

Commenting on the issue, BJP general secretary and national spokesperson JP Nadda said, “The poll strategy has been devised on Friday in the party’s state unit meeting.”

One election in-charge and two assistant election in-charges have been deputed in every Assembly constituency to successfully carry out poll preparation.

Nadda will handle the 9 Assembly seats of Jalandhar, while Kamal Sharma and Vivek Darkar will look after the seats of Rajpura and Ludhiana. Similarly Captain Abhimanyu Sharma will keep eyes on seats falling under Amritsar, Abohar, Fazilka and Ferozepur region.

Sarvan Slaria and Shamsher Singh Chauhan will concentrate on all the seats of Gurdaspur. Suresh Chandel has been assigned the seats falling under Hoshiarpur district.

All the political observers will co-ordinate with Rajya Sabha MP Avinash Roy Khanna. Both Khanna and Nadda will monitor all the 23 seats from the election war room at Jalandhar.

BJP’s election campaign committee led by party’s lone MP from Amritsar, Navjot Singh Sidhu will meet on Saturday at Jalandhar to give poll tips to the candidates.