On the other hand, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) got only two seats – Gorakhpur and Bansgaon. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) also got two seats – Deoria and Salempur which the Samajwadi Party went back to the pavilion for a ‘duck’.

Who will emerge winner this time is indeed a big question. A number of high-profile candidates are in the fray from this region in the final phase of Lok Sabha elections. Let’s have a look.


Saint-turned politician Yogi Adityanath of BJP is the sitting MP from this eastern Uttar Pradesh city since 1998. According to political analysts, Adityanath will have his credibility redefined based on the margin in the elections.

Last time, he secured victory by more than two lakh votes. This time, he is being challenged by Rajmati of SP, Rajbhuwal Nishad of BSP and Congress’ Ashtbhuja Tiwari.


The BJP has parachuted senior leader Kalraj Mishra in this key Purvanchal constituency. Mishra is negotiating with several challenges in order to make his party’s flag fly high.

The discord and dissent over distribution of tickets kept on ruffling his feathers till the end and he had to deal more with the insiders than his opponents.

Mishra is pitted against Niyaz Khan of BSP, Baleshwar Yadav of SP and Congress’ Sabhakunwar.

The competition further gets toughened mainly due to caste based factors and equations along with Modi wave.


Union Minister and Congress leader Kunwar Rudra Pratap Narayan Singh, better known as RPN Singh, is contesting from this constituency which is located close to Bihar-UP border. RPN Singh registered victory from this seat in 2009.

This time, he is entrapped in a multi-cornered contest and whether or not he would stand tall on the party’s expectations would be known only after the declaration of results.

RPN Singh is pitted against Rajesh Pandey of BJP, Sangam Mishra of BSP and Samajwadi Party’s Radheshyam Singh.


Jagdambika Pal, who is better known as one-day Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, is contesting from this constituency after defecting to BJP from Congress.

He is in the fray against UP Assembly Speaker and SP candidate Mata Prasad Pandey, Mohammad Mukim of BSP and Congress’ Vasundhara.

Peace Party president Ayub Khan is also testing the political waters from here.

Basgaon (Reserved)

BJP MP Kamlesh Paswan is contesting from this constituency for the second time. He has been on the firing line of the voters for not spending much of his time in the constituency.

This time, he is riding mainly on Modi wave and whether he will be able to sail through would be decided by the voters.

The BSP has fielded former minister Sadal Prasad, while SP and Congress have given tickets to Gorakh Paswan and Sanjay Kumar respectively.


BSP faces a big time credibility test in this constituency.  In 2009, Ramashankar Rajbhar was able to cross the finishing line riding on the back on ‘Elephant’. However, this time he was denied ticket to contest the polls and was replaced by Pappu Singh alias Ravishankar, who is the nephew of former prime minister Chandra Shekhar.

The BJP has fielded its candidate from this constituency for the first time since 1991 and the party has given ticket to late MP Harikewal Prasad’s son Ravindra Kushwaha.

SP candidate Harivansh Sahay and Congress nominee Bhola Pandey are trying hard to sail through the Parliament.


Congress leader Harshvardhan won from this seat in 2009 and it would be difficult to say if Sonia Gandhi-led party would be able to hold on to the seat this time as well.

The contest is pretty tough here as several candidates like BJP’s Pankaj Chaudhary, BSP’s Kashinath Shukla and Kunwar Akhilesh Singh of SP are also trying their luck from this key Purvanchal constituency.


Latest News from India News Desk