The first stage of the service covers 82 countries while the second will include a further 16 nations, the Information Systems and Technology Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said.
Agreements have been entered into with 82 countries, in cooperation with Qatar telco Ooredoo, to provide the service, a news paper report said, without naming the nations.
"The launch of the free telephone number service for citizens during their overseas travels is an addition to the Tawasul (communication) service, realising the Ministry's vision of serving citizens and caring for their interests abroad," said Saif Al-Kuwari, director of the Information Systems and Technology Department.
As per the arrangement, information received from citizen at the Ministry's office will be communicated to authorities round-the-clock. The office will remain in touch with Qatari ambassadors and diplomatic corps.
Citizens can call free of charge and the cost will be borne by the Ministry. Al-Kuwari said the Ministry tried to get a standard number for all countries. However, as that was not possible, it was decided to have 8000 8000 100 as the number for 42 countries. Other countries have different numbers allocated to them, the report said.
A welcome message will be sent by the Ministry to a citizen as soon as he or she lands in any country.


Latest News from World News Desk