Governor Syed Ahmed administered the oath of office and secrecy to 59-year-old Das at the Birsa Munda Football Stadium here.
Nilkanth Singh Munda, Chandreswar Prasad Singh, Louis Marandi (all BJP) and Chandraprakash Choudhary (Ajsu party) were also sworn-in as Cabinet Ministers.
Jharkhand has a maximum limit of 12 ministers, including the Chief Minister.
Dense fog in New Delhi led Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah to cancel their visit to Jharkhand to attend the ceremony.
Das, a National Vice President of the party, became the tenth Chief Minister after Babulal Marandi (once), Arjun Munda (thrice), Shibu Soren (thrice), Madhu Koda (once) and Hemant Soren (once) in 14 years after Jharkhand was created.
After being elected as the BJP's Legislature Party leader on Friday, Das had staked claim to form government on December 26 at the head of BJP-Asju alliance.
Das joined BJP as a worker and then gradually rose through party ranks before getting the first break when he was nominated as party candidate from Jamshedpur (East) in the 1995 Assembly polls in undivided Bihar. He went on to win the seat five times.
He became a Minister for the first time after the creation of Jharkhand in the Babulal Marandi government and got berths in the subsequent two governments led by Arjun Munda before becoming the Deputy Chief Minister in the Shibu Soren-led government in 2009.
He held portfolios of Finance, Labour and Urban Development during his stint as Cabinet Minister.
This is the first time that BJP, along with its pre-poll ally Ajsu, has got an absolute majority in 81-member state Assembly.
While BJP has 37 members, AJSU has five, taking their total tally to 42.

Raghubar Das, a man with rich administrative experience

Raghbubar Das, the first non-tribal Chief Minister of Jharkhand, has rich administrative experience, thanks to his two stints as a minister as well as deputy chief minister.

"Development of Jharkhand is my priority. All sections, including tribals, minority and others, are on agenda of the development," Das told reporters.

Raghubar Das, who was born on December 18, 1954, in Jamshedpur, has been with the BJP since 1980, the year the party was formed.

A law graduate, Das belongs to a large family and has three brothers and three sisters. He married Rukmani Devi and has a son and a daughter.

Raghubar was elected as a legislator for the first time in 1995 from Jamshedpur east, then to the Bihar state assembly. When Jharkhand was carved out from Bihar in 2000, he became labour minister in Babulal Marandi's government. He was a minister in Arjun Munda's government too.  

He was twice the state BJP president.  After the 2009 assembly poll, he became the deputy chief minister in the Shibu Soren government.

Raghubar Das became national vice president of the BJP in August this year.

Latest News from States News Desk