The new government, possibly a coalition, will take oath of office on Sunday.  With 37 seats, the BJP in coalition with ally AJSU (5 seats) could form a stable government with the support of 42 MLAs in the 81 member Assembly.
Hours after his election by the BJP Legislature Party, Das, a Vice President of BJP, staked claim to form a government in the state that was notorious for political instability.
Accompanied by alliance partner AJSU party President Sudesh Mahto and winning MLAs, Das met Governor Syed Ahmed and staked claim to form the new government. The fact that former party chief minister  Arjun Munda, a tribal, lost the election helped Das' case greatly.
"We met the governor and staked claim. We suggested to him that we want to take oath at 11 am on December 28, and the Governor agreed to it," Das said after meeting Ahmed.
"We will give good and corruption-free governance and development will pick up. We will also work for the 93 per cent people in the unorganised sector, Scheduled Tribes and Scheduled Castes and the poor," said the 60-year-old Chief Minister-elect with trade union background.
Earlier in the day, central observers J P Nadda and Vinay Sahasrabuddhe attended the BJP LP meeting, in which Munda was also present.
"The BJP’s legislature party elected Raghuvar Das as its leader. Saryu Roy and C P Singh proposed his name, and supported by all," Nadda told reporters.

Das stakes claim to form government
Das staked claim to form the new government in Jharkhand, three days after the BJP-AJSU party alliance won a majority in the assembly election.
Accompanied by several MLAs of the alliance partners, Das met with Governor Syed Ahmed and staked claim to form the next government.
AJSU party chief Sudesh Mahto, who lost the elections, was also part of the delegation.
"We met the Governor and staked claim to form the government. We suggested December 28 (for the swearing-in ceremony), and he agreed," Das said after the meeting with the Governor.
BJP's Saryu Roy, C P Singh and party's state unit president Ravindra Rai were among the leaders who accompanied Das in the meeting.
This will be the tenth government in 14 years of Jharkhand's creation. The state has witnessed three elections.

Raghubar Das, a man with rich administrative experience

Raghbubar Das, who is set to be the first non-tribal chief minister of Jharkhand, has rich administrative experience, thanks to his two stints as a minister as well as deputy chief minister.

"Development of Jharkhand is my priority. All sections, including tribals, minority and others, are on agenda of the development," Das told reporters after being elected leader of the BJP legislature party by the newly-elected members.

Raghubar Das, who was born on December 18, 1954, in Jamshedpur, has been with the BJP since 1980, the year the party was formed.

A law graduate, Das belongs to a large family and has three brothers and three sisters. He married Rukmani Devi and has a son and a daughter.

Raghubar was elected as a legislator for the first time in 1995 from Jamshedpur east, then to the Bihar state assembly. When Jharkhand was carved out from Bihar in 2000, he became labour minister in Babulal Marandi's government. He was a minister in Arjun Munda's government too.  

He was twice the state BJP president.  After the 2009 assembly poll, he became the deputy chief minister in the Shibu Soren government.

Raghubar Das became national vice president of the BJP in August this year.

Latest News from Jharkhand News Desk