Some lesser known facts:

1. For the first in 1924, Rail Budget was separated from General Budget. Prior to that Rail Budget was the part of General Budget.

2.  John Mathai was the first Railway Minister of independent India.
2. First live telecast of Rail Budget took place on March 24, 1994.

3. Lalu Prasad Yadav, who remained Railways Minister from 2004 to May 2009, presented the Rail Budget for record six times in a row.

FILE PHOTO: Railway Minister Lalu Yadav holds the speech for the 2009-10 railway budget in New Delhi

4. Mamata Banerjee, the current Chief Minister of West Bengal, was the first women Railway Minister of India.

5, Mamata Banerjee also holds the record of being the only women who presented the Rail Budget for two different government—NDA and UPA-- in the Centre.

FILE PHOTO: Union Minister for Railways, Mamata Banerjee giving finishing touches to the Railway Budget 2009-10, in New Delhi

6. In 2014 Rail Budget, Railways Minister Sadananda Gowda announced the first bullet train and nine high speed trains.

7. Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar served two terms as Railway Minister under Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, as a member for two different parties—Samata Party and Janata Dal.

FILE PHOTO: Railway Minister Nitish Kumar entering the Parliament to present the Railway Budget 2002-03 in Lok Sabha in New Delhi

Latest News from India News Desk