Out of 33 Zila Parishad seats, results of 30 has been announced so far and the outcome for remaining three is likely to be declared on Saturday.

Both the parties won equal number of Ward Member seats in Jhunjhunu Zila Parishad, where one seat was bagged by an independent candidate.

Results of 911 seats of Zila Parishad Member out of total 1,014 have been announced so far in which BJP won 533 and Congress got 361 seats.
Nine independents, eight of CPI (M) and three from BSP also tasted victory in Zila Parishad elections.

The Zila Parishad seats won by BJP are Ajmer, Baran, Bhilwara, Chittorgarh, Churu, Dholpur, Sriganganagar, Jaipur, Jhalawar, Jodhpur, Pali, Pratapgarh, Rajsamand, Sikar, Sirohi, Tonk, Dungarpur, Hanumangarh, Jalore and Nagaur.
Congress secured Banswara, Bikaner, Bundi, Dausa, Jaisalmer, Karauli, Kota, Barmer and Sawaimadhopur Zila Parishads.

BJP has won 2,983 seats of Panchayat Samiti member while Congress secured 2,507. Out of total 6,236 seats, results have been announced for 6,128 seats so far.
Counting of votes started on Wednesday. It is the first major electoral test for the parties after the Lok Sabha elections eight months ago when BJP had won all the 25 seats.

In bypolls held in September last year, BJP had lost three out of four Assembly seats. However, in Civic Bodies polls, BJP had an edge over the Opposition Congress by security 4 municipal corporations and scores of municipal bodies late last year.

Former Chief Minister of Rajasthan Ashok Gehlot said that the Panchayat election results were satisfactory for Congress and eye opener for BJP.
"The results show that Congress has its strong ground in rural areas. The results are satisfactory for the party," he said in a statement here.

Latest News from State News Desk