Counting of votes will begin in all 33 district headquarters at 8 am, a spokesman of State Election Commission (RSEC) said on Wednesday.
The elections were held to elect 1,014 ward members of Zila Parishad and 6,233 members of Panchayat Samiti in three phases. Of these, 19 members of Zila Parishad and 112 Panchayat Samiti members were elected unopposed.

Altogether, 2,633 candidates contested in Zila Parishad and over 16,100 candidates contested for Panchayat Samitis whose political fortune would be opened through EVMs and ballot papers on Thursday, the spokesman said.
On February 7 and 8, the elected members of Zila Parishad and Panchayat Samiti would elect Zila Pramukh, Up-pramukh, Pradhan and Up-pradhan respectively.
In the three phases last month, election of 1,09,469 Sarpanch, Panch and Up-sarpanch were already completed. Zila Parishad and Panchayat Samiti polls are held on party lines while Gram Panchayat and Sarpanch polls on non-political lines.

Latest News from State News Desk