Lehragaga, the hinterland in the Sutrana region, has been playing a crucial role in the election battle field for the last two decades. The present leader of the Punjab Congress Legislative Party and former Chief Minister Rajinder Kuar Bhattal, who has never faced defeat from 1992, will face the battle of ballot on January 30.

As the election fever catches up in Punjab, Bhattal has drawn battle lines against the SAD-BJP nominee Sukhwant Singh Sarao, comedian Bhagwant Mann of the PPP, Jagjit Singh of the BSP and Sardool Singh Ramgarh of the SAD (Amritsar).

Four time winner of assembly elections (1992, 1997, 2002 and 2007), Bhattal has garnered immense support from the female fraternity.

 In 2007 assembly election, Bhattal gave a stiff competition to the SAD-BJP candidate Prem Singh Chandumajra and won the election by a margin of only 248 votes.  The credit for the victory goes to the then rebel from the Congress and SGPC member Jathedar Niranjan Singh Bhuntal who stood against Bhattal in last elections and swept more than 10,000 votes.

This year, Bhattal is contesting against Bhuntal’s brother Sukhwant Singh Sarao. Having a strong political stature in the SAD, Sarao has been assisted by several other party leaders during election campaign.

Trying to woo the electorates in Lehragaga, the Punjab’s People Party (PPP) candidate Bhagwant Mann has been raising questions on the lackadaisical attitude of the ruling dispensation regarding development in the region. Interestingly, it is due to this reason Bhattal has been targeting Mann in her speech.

As a poll plank, Bhattal says if the Congress comes into power she would industrialize the area and generate job opportunities.