He also charged DMK President M Karunanidhi with trying to 'hoodwink' people on the issue, claiming that his government was not earlier favourably disposed to mercy petitions filed by three of the convicts--Murugan, Santhan and Perarivalan.
While the state government can release all seven of them including Nalini using Article 161 of the Constitution, Jayalalithaa "has written a letter to Centre through the Chief Secretary," he said in a statement.
"People are aware that this is an attempt to gain political mileage and hoodwink (them)," he said.

Tamil Nadu government had informed Centre of its decision to release V Sriharan alias Murugan, T Suthendraraja alias Santhan, A G Perarivalan alias Arivu, Jayakumar, Robert Payas, Ravichandran and Nalini, and sought its views on the matter as is required in certain cases before taking action.


Latest News from State News Desk