New Delhi: The BJP on Wednesday officially announced Rajnath Singh as the new party president at the party office in Delhi. Rajnath Singh’s tenure as BJP president will end in 2015.

Eighteen nomination papers were filled on behalf of Rajnath Singh and all of them were found to be valid.

I want to save party, says Gadkari
Rajnath Singh defends Gadkari
BJP will gain from Rajnath: Modi
Political plot to tarnish image: Gadkari
Rajnath Singh returns to political pitch
BJP’s presidential journey since 1980

The 61-year-old senior party leader from Uttar Pradesh took the baton back from Nitin Gadkari whom he handed over the post in 2009.
Singh, who emerged as the consensus candidate last night after Gadkari dramatically opted out of the race for a second term, was the only candidate to file the nominations and was declared elected unopposed.
Gadkari was among the first ones to wish the new party president soon after the announcement by Election officer Thawar Chand Gehlot in the presence of top party leaders including L K Advani, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley and Venkaiah Naidu.
Gadkari, whose candidature was being pushed strongly by RSS, suddenly quit the race in the midst of allegations of impropriety by his company Purti Group.
After taking over, Rajnath Singh said, "I accept this not as a post, but as a responsibility" and said he would take the battle to a decisive end by bringing BJP to power.
He said he was taking over in not very conducive conditions in the wake of allegations levelled against the outgoing chief Nitin Gadkari.
Singh said though the party wanted Gadkari to continue as party president for a second term, but he took a moral high by deciding not to contest for a second term till his name was cleared of all charges.
The new Chief exuded confidence of steering the party in the forthcoming assembly elections in various states later this year and expressed the hope to see formation of an NDA regime led by BJP in the next general elections.


Rajnath’s political journey
1951-Born in a simple farmer’s family
1974-1975 - District secretary Jan Sangh
1977- Elected as MLA from Mirzapur constituency
1983-State secretary BJP
1984-UP president BJYM
1986-National general secretary BJYM
1988- National president BJYM
1991-MLC and Education Minister in Kalyan Singh government
1994-Rajya Sabha MP
March 1997-UP BJP president
1999-Union Surface Transport Minister
October 2000-UP Chief Minister and Elected to assembly from Haidergarh
2002-National general secretary, BJP
May, 2003-Union Agriculture Minister in Vajpayee government
July 2004-National general secretary BJP
December 2005-National president BJP
2009-Elected to LS from Ghaziabad
2013- Re-elected as BJP National president



Latest News from India News Desk


December 2005-National president BJP