New Delhi: With Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's current Rajya Sabha term from Assam expiring on June 14, the Election Commission on Thursday announced biennial elections on May 30 to fill the seat.

The Commission said the necessary notification for filling up the two Rajya Sabha seats from Assam falling vacant will be issued on May 13. The scrutiny will be done on May 21 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is May 23.

The polls, if necessary, will be held from 9am to 4pm on May 30 and counting will be held at 5 PM the same day, the EC said.

Along with Singh, the tenure of AGP's Kumar Deepak Das is also expiring on June 14.


Latest News from India News Desk