New Delhi: The name of Orissa will now be named as 'Odisha', as the Rajya Sabha on Thursday passed a bill and an amendment in the Constitution to rename Oriya language as 'Odiya'.

Introducing the bill in the Rajya Sabha, Home Minister P Chidambaram said, “The name of the state specified as Orissa in the First Schedule of the Constitution be changed as Odisha.”

The Orissa (Alteration of Name) Bill, 2010, and the Constitution (113th Amendment) Bill, 2010, for the change of the name of the language were moved by the Home Minister on the basis of resolutions passed by the Orissa assembly.

Both bills were passed by the Lok Sabha in November 2010.

“The government of Orissa forwarded to the Central government in December 2008 the resolution passed by the legislative assembly of Orissa on 28th August, 2008,” Chidambaram said.

“As required by the provision to Article 3 of the Constitution, the President referred the bill to the legislature of the state of Orissa for expressing its views thereon,' he said.