Kolkata: A notification for the Rajya Sabha (RS) poll, which is to be held on July 22, was issued on Tuesday to fill half a dozen seats lying vacant from West Bengal.

With the beginning of nomination, state Congress president Pradip Bhattacharya and Trinamool’s Dev Vrat Banerjee, Srinjoy Bose, Derek O'Brien filed their candidacy.

Dev Vrat Banerjee, a former IAS officer, is considered to be a close associate of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee whereas Derek O'Brien has been with her from the day when she had started mass-movement.

Notably, Trinamool-Congress alliance had swept the recent April-May state Assembly polls in which Congress bagged 42 seats to emerge as the second largest party after Trinamool Congress.

The Trinamool-Congress alliance is likely to grab five out of six Rajya Sabha seats in the polls.

Sitaram Yechury is likely to be the CPI-M candidate for a second term in the Rajya Sabha.

The present polls will take place as the terms of CPI-M candidates Sitaram Yechury, Brinda Karat, Mohammed Amin, RSP’s Abani Roy and Trinamool’s Swapan Sadhan Bose have completed.

One more seat is vacant because of the death of an independent candidate Arjun Kumar Sengupta.