The elections for six seats in Andhra Pradesh, five in West Bengal, four in Odisha and for three seats in Assam are being held in the respective Legislative Assembly premises.

As many as 37 candidates from 12 states have already been declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha. These states are: Maharashtra (seven seats), Tamil Nadu – six, Bihar – five, Gujarat – four, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan – three each, Haryana, Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand – two each and Himachal Pradesh, Manipur and Meghalaya – one each.

The Election Commission of India has appointed special observers for the biennial Rajya Sabha elections in Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Odisha and West Bengal on February 7, a statement said.

"The duties of the special observers will be to keep a watch on electoral malpractices including role of money power. In case specific complaints are received, the same will promptly be looked into," the commission said on Tuesday.

"The observers will also keep constant watch on the news and media reports related to biennial election. In case of any electoral malpractices, the same will be brought to the notice of the Commission," it added.

The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Gujarat has been appointed the special observer for Andhra Pradesh and the Tripura CEO will look after Assam. Karnataka's CEO will be the observer in Odisha and Uttar Pradesh's CEO is West Bengal's observer.

"The Commission has already appointed the observers and Director Investigation of Income Tax of the concerned states have also been directed by the commission to keep a strict and vigilant watch on the role of money power etc. After completion of election, a report will also be furnished by the special observers to the Commission," the EC said.


Latest News from India News Desk