Proceedings in the House began with Chairman Hamid Ansari mentioning about the 14th anniversary of dastardly terror attack on Parliament House. Soon after, several Congress members trooped into the Well of the House shouting anti-government slogans.
Because of the protest, Congress member Bhaskar Rapolu even refused to lay the Report of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Energy. Rapolu, who was in the Well, refused to go back to his seat to do so.
"Go and present your report. That is your duty. Why don't you do that," said Deputy Chairman PJ Kurien to an unrelenting Rapolu. He called Rapolu after the first member listed to present the report, Prarimohan Mohapatra of BJD, was not present.
Amid the din, a resolution referring The Prevention of Corruption (Amendment) Bill, 2013 to a Select Committee of the House was passed. As Congress members booed, Kurien even got Sukhendu Shekar Roy (TMC), Tapan Kumar Sen (CPM) and KK Ragesh to lay their special mention notices on incidents of intolerance, workers plight in tea gardens and special assistance to Kerala rubber farmers respectively laid on the table.

Latest News from India News Desk