New Delhi: Athens Olympics silver medallist shooter Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore will chair the 15-member committee, which will select this year's Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awardee and Arjuna Award winners.

Former hockey captain Aslam Sher Khan will head the 15-member committee which will select the Dronacharya Award winners while Secretary Sports will be the chairperson of the committee which will select the Dhyanchand Award winner.

Apart from several current and former sportspersons, the committees also have representatives from the Sports Authority of India (SAI) and the Sports Ministry.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award consists of a cash amount of Rs 7.50 lakh, a scroll of honour and one medal.

Arjuna Award consist of a statuette, a scroll of honour, and a cash award of Rs five lakh. Dhyanchand Award consists of a plaque, a scroll of honour, ceremonial dress and a cash award of Rs five lakh.

With a view to recognise the contribution made to sports development by entities other than sportspersons and coaches, the Government had instituted 'Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar' which has four categories, namely, community sports development, promotion of sports academies of excellence, support to elite sportspersons and employment to sportspersons.

The Award carries a trophy and citation.


Latest News from Sports News Desk