Chennai: Rajasthan opener Vineet Saxena's 257 against Tamil Nadu is the third longest innings in terms of minutes by any batsman in the history of first-class cricket.

Saxena has batted for an unbelievable 907 minutes (15 hours and seven minutes) and in the process is only behind former Himachal Pradesh captain Rajeev Nayyar who batted for 1015 minutes (16 hours 55 minutes) for his 271 against Jammu & Kashmir in a Ranji Trophy match at Chamba back in 1999-00.

Pakistan legend Hanif Mohammed is second in the list having batted 970 minutes scoring 337 against the West Indies at Bridgetown back in 1957-58.

Saxena has infact pipped former India coach Gary Kirsten whose 275 against England in Durban (1999-00) saw him stay 878 minutes (14 hours and 38 minutes) at the crease.

Some of the distinguished international names in the top-10 list are Len Hutton of England, Sanath Jayasuriya of Sri Lanka while Saxena's opening partner Aakash Chopra is seventh in the list.

Top 10 batsmen (According to duration)

Matches          Batsman                 For     Vs           Venue        Series

1015         Rajeev Nayyar (271)     HP     J & K      Chamba            '99-00
970         Hanif Mohammad(337*)  Pak.   WI         Bridgetown        '57-58
*907         Vineet Saxena (257)     Raj    TN           Chennai           '11-12
878         Gary Kirsten  (275)         SA     Eng.         Durban            '99-00
838         Stephen Cook  (390)      Lions  Warriors    E.London         '09-10
821         Shivakant Shukla(178*)   UP     TN           Nagpur            '08-09
812         Aakash Chopra (301*)     Raj.    Maharash. Nasik             '10-11
799         Sanath Jayasuriya(340)    SL      India        Colombo        '97-98
797         Len Hutton    (364)        Eng.   Australia   The Oval           '38-39
796         Shitanshu Kotak(168*)    Sau     Mumbai    Mumbai          '07-08