"This is the personal defeat of Chouhan and his entire Cabinet. For almost a week, the Chief Minister, his Cabinet, MLAs, BJP and the government machinery were deployed and crores (of rupees) were spent, but they failed to influence people of the constituency," said former Leader of Opposition in Madhya Pradesh Assembly Ajay Singh.

BJP's Nirmala Bhuria lost in the prestigious by-poll held on November 21 to former Union minister and Congress leader Kantilal Bhuria, by a margin of 88,832 votes.

On BJP retaining Dewas Assembly seat where the Congress nominee was defeated, Singh said the victory margin of the saffron party was indeed reduced compared to 2013.

BJP's Gayatri Raje Puar, wife of erstwhile royal late Tukoji Rao Puar, defeated Congress's Jai Prakash Shastri by a margin of 30,778 votes. Tukoji Puar's death necessitated the election.

Meanwhile, Chouhan has accepted the defeat and also congratulated Bhuria.

Latest News from State News Desk