Cuttack: An explosive triple century by Ravindra Jadeja propelled Saurashtra to a towering 545 in their first innings on the second day of their Ranji Trophy match against hosts Orissa at the Barabati stadium on Friday.

Jadeja, who was unbeaten at 141 on Thursday, steered his team virtually singlehandedly to a formidable total of 545 runs with his majestic 314 which came off 375 balls.

Displaying skillful batsmanship, Jadeja sent the ball in all directions striking 29 hits to the fence and nine over it during his 558-minute stay in the middle before being caught by Biplab Samantray off Deepak Behera.

Apart from Jadeja, Bhushan Chauhan scored 83 off 171 balls with the help of 15 boundaries, while Pratik Mehta made 39 striking six hits to the fence.

Saurashtra who were 417 for six wickets at lunch on Friday moved to 518 for 8 at tea before ending the innings with 545.

For Orissa, Basanta Mohanty scalped four wickets giving away 86 runs, while Deepak Behera and Jayanta Behera captured two wickets each.

In reply, Orissa scored 51 for no loss when stumps were drawn on the second day's play with Bikash Pati (34) and Natraj Behera at (17) at the crease.

Brief scores:

Saurashtra first innings: 545 all out (Ravindra Jadeja 314, Bhushan Chauhan 83, Pratik Mehta 39, Basanta Mohanty 4/86).

Orissa first innings: 51 no loss.

Skipper Chanda 8 wickets fail to restrict Himachal

Skipper Timir Chanda set a new record for Tripura on Friday by bagging eight wickets in the Ranji Trophy plate league match against Himachal Pradesh, which posted a massive 531 in their first innings.

In the second day at the Maharaja Bir Bikram Stadium here, Himachal's Paras Dogra (205) smashed a double century.

Chanda's gave away 127 runs for his eight wickets. He had taken seven wickets for 116 runs against Goa last year.

His statemate Vinit Jain had also scalped seven wickets for 29 runs against Himachal Pradesh in 2006.

Resuming at the overnight score of 347 for two, Himachal rode on a fine batting display to post the giant total.

Dogra, who was unbeaten on 174 in day one, faced 324 balls and struck 26 fours en route his double century innings.

Besides Dogra, experienced middle-order batsmen S Sriram (54) and Rishi Dhawan (55) made useful runs.

In reply, Tripura were 91 for one at stumps on day two.

Opener Shubhrajit Ray (39) and Gopesh Bhowmik (9) were unbeaten at the crease at the close of play.

Rajib Saha was the lone Tripura wicket to fall for 33.

Bengal declare first innings at 560/6

Riding on wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha's unbeaten 167, Bengal declared their first innings at 560 for six, about an hour after tea on the second day of their Group B Ranji Trophy Super League tie against Gujarat.

In reply, Gujarat made 10 for no loss during the six overs they played at the Eden Gardens with captain Parthiv Patel (8) and all-rounder P K Panchal (1) remaining unbeaten.

Resuming the day at the overnight score of 261 for 4  Saha, in skipper Manoj Tiwary's comapnay, played a fine innings to stake his claim for a berth in the Indian team for the upcoming tour of Australia.

Saha, who fifth first-class century, successfully shouldered the responsibility after Tiwary (132) was caught by Parthiv off Amit Singh.

Coming on to bat after the fall of fourth Bengal wicket yesterday, Saha faced 292 balls and batted for 430 minutes during his marathon knock. He hit 26 boundaries and a six in the process.

Saha was ably assisted by Laxmi Ratan Shukla and Sourashaish Lahiri, who remained unbeaten 78 and 71 respectively.

While Shukla hit 12 fours and a six during his 120-ball innings, Lahiri struck six boundaries and two huge hits over the fence during his 114-ball vigil at the crease.

Gujarat bowlers toiled throughout the day but failed to create problems for Bengal batsmen.

P K Panchal was the most successful among the visiting team bowlers with figures of two for 41, including the prized wicket of former India captain Sourav Ganguly.

Mumbai in command against Railways

It was a case of too little too late as Railways, despite off-spinner Shreyas Khanolkar's five-wicket haul, could not prevent Mumbai from taking control of their Group A Ranji Trophy Elite division match.

Khanolkar returned with figures of five for 78 to help Railways bowl out Mumbai for 483 in 141.3 overs after the visitors resumed the second day at 338 for five at the Karnail Singh Stadium.

The hosts, however, slumped to 66 for three by stumps, still trailing by 417 runs with seven batsmen to come.

Overnight centurion Rohit Sharma added 42 runs on Friday before Khanolkar went through his defence.

Ankeet Chavan (44), Romesh Powar and Dhawal Kulkarni (26) made useful contributions down the order before falling to Khanolkar.

Shivakant Shukla top-scored for the home team with a 62-ball 31. Captain Sanjay Bangar and Nitin Bille were at the crease on identical scores of four when stumps were drawn.

Burly off-spinner Romesh Powar (2/18) picked up two wickets for Mumbai while paceman Aavishkar Salvi (1/7) accounted for the other Railway batsman.

Brief Scores:

Mumbai 1st innings: 483 all out in 141.3 overs (Rohit Sharma 175, Suryakumar Yadav 88; Shreyas Khanolkar 5/78).

Railways 1st innings: 66 for three in 23 overs (Shivakant Shukla 31; Romesh Powar 2/18).

Delhi take upperhand as Haryana batting collapses

Milind Kumar and Rajat Bhatia's unbeaten half-centuries put Delhi in command after the host bowlers dismissed Haryana for 293 on the second day of their Ranji Trophy Elite (Group B) match.

Milind (84) and Bhatia (57) shared an unbroken 98-run partnership for the fourth wicket as Delhi reached 214 for three in reply to Haryana's 293.

Haryana, resuming at 256 for seven, were bowled out quickly with Pradeep Sangwan completing a five-wicket haul scalping two of the last three visiting wickets to fall.

Sangwan completed impressive figures of 5/67 in the 22.5 overs he bowled. Parvinder Awana supported him well with three wickets from his 27 overs conceding 95 runs.

In reply, Delhi didn't make a great start either and opener Unmukt Chand fell with the total reading 38. Unmukt, who made 24, was clean bowled by Sachin Rana.

Shikhar Dhawan didn't last long either and contributed just 16 runs to the total before being sent back by Amit Vashisht.

In walked Milind and together with Mithun Manhas (29), steadied the ship with a 64-run partnership for the third wicket.

Manhas departed after a 68-ball knock that included four boundaries but Milind continued the steady build-up to what seems like a strong reply, and he was ably supported by Bhatia.

Milind struck 12 fours in his knock that has so far taken 194 balls, while Bhatia's 57 came off 109 deliveries with nine boundaries.

Brief Scores:

Haryana 1st innings: 256/7
Delhi 1st innings: 214/3 in 73 overs (Milind Kumar 84 batting, Rajat Bhatia 57 batting).