"The government has minted the above coins (to commemorate the 150th birth anniversary of Swami Vivekananda), which the Reserve Bank of India will shortly put into circulation," RBI said in a press release.
RBI said that these coins are the legal tender and the existing coins in this denomination shall also continue to be legal tender.
Also, the central bank will soon issue Rs 10 coins to commemorate the occasion of silver jubilee of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board.
Further in a separate release, RBI said it will issue Rs 100 banknotes with rupee symbol and inset letter A.
These Rs 100 banknotes will incorporate rupee symbol on the obverse and the reverse with inset letter 'A' in both the numbering panel, in the Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005.
"The notes will bear the signature of D Subbarao, Governor, RBI and the year of printing, that is '2013' printed on the reverse of the banknote," the release said.
The design of these notes to be issued now will be similar in all respects to the Rs 100 banknotes in Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005 issued earlier, it added.
All the banknotes in the denomination of Rs 100 issued by the Bank in the past will continue to be legal tender, it said.


Latest News from India News Desk