"The RBI will shortly issue Rs 1000 denomination Banknotes incorporating rupee symbol, without inset letter, in the Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005 bearing the signature of Raghuram G Rajan, Governor, Reserve Bank of India, and  the year of printing 2014 printed on the reverse of the banknote," a release from the RBI said.
RBI said the design of these notes to be issued would be similar in all respects to the Rs 1000 banknotes in Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005, issued earlier.
"All the Banknotes in the denomination of Rs 1,000 issued by the Bank in the past will continue to be legal tender."     

RBI would also issue Rs 50 denomination banknotes in the same series with inset letter 'R' in the numbering panel and Rs 20 denomination banknote without inset letter.


Latest News  from Business News Desk