New Delhi: The rebel workers from the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) and the Congress will draw the battle lines in the elections to the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) as Independents.

In this league, the rebel leader from the BJP Narendra Tandon has filed nominations from Mukherjee Nagar against the BJP candidate Mayor Rajni Abbi. Tandon was the secretary of the party’s state unit. The extent of rebellion can be gauged from the fact that with the denial of ticket to Tandon, the party workers of the Mukherjee Nagar zone tendered their resignations.

However, not stirring up the issue Rajni Abbi said, “Tandon is like my brother. Many a times internal resentment arise within the family but we will soon appease him.”
On a similar note, another BJP worker and current councillor from Rohini Harish Awasthi will contend MCD elections as an Independent after the ticket denial. He will fight against the BJP candidate Pravesh Wahi. From Mansarovar ward (98), councillor Raj Kumar Khurana has fielded his wife Anju Khurana after his name went missing from the final candidates list. The BJP has given ticket to Usha Mehta from the ward. Other rebel BJP workers to contend the elections are Rajkumar Sharma, Veer Singh and Manju Gupta.

From New Ashok Nagar the present BJP councillor has filed nomination as an Independent. He alleged party of taking bribe in distribution of tickets.
On the other hand the former Congress councillor Bansilal will fight the election as an Independent candidate from Geeta Colony ward.  The young Congress worker Deepak Thakur will fight elections from Dilshad Colony as a Peace Party candidate.  From the same seat the rebel Congress worker Arif Khan has filed nominations as the Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate.

More so, Sushila Bharadwaj of the Congress has turned rebellious after she was denied the party ticket and Bimla Sharma was fielded from the Saboli ward.  Jai Ram and Shakeela Begum are the other rebel Congress workers.