The India A's one day squad is quite different to the one which played two 'Tests' against the Kiwis. The likes of Manprit Juneja, Vijay Zol and Abhishek Nayar, who scored centuries in those two first-class games are not a part of the limited overs side.
Instead, there will be Karnataka dasher Robin Uthappa -- a 'veteran' of 38 ODIs and 11 T20 International, is expected to open the batting with Chand, who will be equally desperate to get a substantial score under his belt.
Uthappa recently hired former India batsman Praveen Amre as his personal coach and also flew down to Mumbai to train under the latter.
The middle-order has some flashy yet exciting players like former India U-19 captain and Rajasthan left-hander Ashok Menaria, Maharashtra's pint-sized hard-hitter Kedar Jadhav and the immensely talented wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson, who has been the find for Rajasthan Royals during the last edition.
The Indian bowling attack will be led by Dhawal Kulkarni, with Vidarbha's Shrikant Wagh, Punjab's Sandeep Sharma and Odisha's Basant Mohanty being the other option. The lanky Odisha seamer Mohanty has been very consistent for his state as well as for East Zone during past couple of seasons.
While off-spinner all-rounder Jalaj Saxena will be manning the spin department, the lanky leg-spinner Rahul Sharma will like to keep Sandeep Patil and Co interested in him with a long season coming ahead.
The New Zealand have a more or less same side that fought doggedly during the two 'Tests' with only change being shorter format specialist Andrew Ellis taking over captaincy from Tom Latham, who led in the longer version.
India: Unmukt Chand (captain), Robin Uthappa, Aditya Tare, (WK), Kedar Jadhav, Mandeep Singh, Ashok Menaria, Sanju Samson (wk), Sachin Baby, Dhawal Kulkarni, Basant Mohanty, Sandeep Sharma, Shrikant Wagh, Rahul Sharma, Jalaj Saxena.
New Zealand: Tom Latham, Luke Ronchi, Matthew Henry, Anton Devcich, Andrew Ellis (captain), Colin Munro, Scoot Kuggeleijn, Corey Anderson, Carl Cachopa, Todd Astle, Mark Gillespie, Doug Bracewell, Ish Sodhi, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne.


Latest News from Sports News Desk