The award has been instituted by the TSR Foundation of T Subbarami Reddy in the memory of the producer-director, who died in 2012. The Foundation annually honors a distinguished senior
film personality for outstanding contribution to film industry with a Gold Medal and a cash prize of Rs 10 lakh.

A jury consisting of Hema Malini, Jaya Prada, Simi Garewal, Boney Kapoor, Pam Chopra and Reddy declared Rekha's name for this edition of the award, a statement read. Rekha, 61, who worked with Chopra in 1981 romance 'Silsila', will be given the honor on February 2 next year by the Governor of Maharashtra in a glittering ceremony in Mumbai.

Previous recipients include Melody Queen Lata Mangeshkar and megastar Amitabh Bachchan.

Latest news from Entertainment News Desk