Repolling was held peacefully from 7 am to 5 pm at polling station number 35 in Bornijora LP School in Jalukbari Assembly segment of the constituency, the sources said.
Repolling was ordered following the arrest of six persons, including four polling officials, allegedly influencing voting at the booth on April 24.
The arrested persons included presiding officer Paresh Hajarika and polling officials Rakhal Chandra Choudhury, Abhoy Nath Bezbarua and Rupam Malakar, videographer Bidyut Saikia and VDP volunteer Bimal Boro for allegedly influencing casting of votes, a release from the additional CEO's office said.
A police case was filed against the six at Baihata PS after a local news channel telecast footage of the polling station on April 24 showing a person sporting a VDP (Village Defence Party) identity card repeatedly pressing the EVM button for voters or asking them to ‘vote here’ for a particular candidate.
The video also showed that neither the polling officials nor polling agents of other contestants were seen protesting the VDP volunteer's moves.


Latest News from State News Desk