Justice Khetrapal who had awarded the death sentences to Nirbhaya's rapists, was chosen unanimously for the post in October by a four-member panel comprising Lt. Governor Najeeb Jung, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Chief Justice of Delhi High Court G. Rohini and Leader of Opposition in the Delhi Assembly Vijender Gupta.

The post was lying vacant since November 2013, when retired Justice Manmohan Sarin had relinquished office. However, The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) government was criticised over the delay in the appointment of Lokayukta by the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress simultaneously.

Latest News from State News Desk