The newly elected MLAs - Prahlad Singh Sawhney, Chaudhary Mateen Ahmed, Asif Mohd Khan, Haroon Yusuf, Arvinder Singh Lovely, Hassan Ahmed, Jai Kishen and Devender Yadav- were called upon by Gandhi scion to analyze the party’s poor performance in the election.

The blame game began on Monday itself with outgoing chief minster Sheila Dikshit accusing JP Agarwal, president of DPCC, of not enthusiastically backing her.

Not only this, some party leaders are also raising fingers at AICC general secretary in-charge for Delhi, Shakeel Ahmed. According to sources, the party kept on appointing invigilators till November 30, despite knowing the fact that the poll campaign will come to an end on December 2, 48-hours before the election date.

Close party sources said that many leaders of the Congress Bihar unit were appointed as invigilators and were given money for party campaigning but none of them did their job which ultimately resulted in massive defeat of the party in one of its strongest bastion.
Congress has been in power in Delhi for 15 years now with Sheila Dikshit having the distinction of the longest-serving woman Chief Minister in independent India. Dikshit, who had led Congress to three successive victories in Delhi, had to suffer defeat at the hands of the debutant Arvind Kejriwal from New Delhi assembly constituency. The party was restricted to just eight seats from the tally of 43 in 2008.


Latest News from India News Desk